Growing Potatoes

Last year I tried growing potatoes and it didn’t go so well. I used buds from grocery store potatoes and I assume the reason they didn’t produce any new potatoes is because some commercially grown, if not all, are altered in some way so to not produce again. This protects the growers in some sense. This year, I am experimenting with some potatoes buds I found at SAMs Club and decided to try. You can find kits at some big retail stores and you can also order them from online. This year, my mom did both. She had great success with her potatoes last year, so I am going to share with you how she did it; and show you how I will be doing mine this year! 🙂

Materials:

  • Cardboard box
  • Soil
  • Potato buds
  • Heavy Duty Tape – optional

Directions:

Take the cardboard box and place it on the ground so that the bottom flaps are not underneath the box (you should be able to look in the box and see the ground.) You can remove the flaps or tape them around the side for reinforcement like I did. I also did this with the top flaps. The cardboard box will eventually deteriorate (mine is not coated), but unless you have lots and lots of rain, it should last the growing season.

Here you can see where I taped the bottom and top flaps to the sides for stability and strength.

Here you can see where I taped the bottom and top flaps to the sides for stability and strength.

Once you have placed the box where you want it, put a layer of soil two or three inches thick on the bottom. Lay your potatoes out and then cover with another two to three inches of soil, depending on how large your potatoes are and water in.

I put a 2" layer of soil on the bottom and then set out my potatoes. These are three different varieties.

I put a 2″ layer of soil on the bottom and then set out my potatoes. These are three different varieties.

Soon they will have sprouted. As they grow, continue to add soil, always leaving 4 to 6 leaves above the soil line. Once you reach the top of the box with soil, continue to let the potatoes grow. Keep a keen eye on the boxes, watching for ants and that the boxes don’t deteriorate too soon. The potatoes will always need to be covered with soil as they are growing.

Once the potatoes are ready to harvest, all you have to do is cut the box away or just pull it apart. Dig through the soil and harvest your potatoes!

I hope this gives you the inspiration and know-how to try something new this year. I’ll be sure to keep you updated on their growth.

Get your Head in the Garden,

Sarah

This entry was posted in How To, Potato and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Message

