My Garden Update: 4/3/2015

I tried to be more realistic this year with what items my husband and I eat the most of. For example, we love cherry tomatoes for salads, my husband loves sweet peppers and we both dislike eggplant (or at least in every way I have ever tried – and failed – to cook it). Therefore, my garden this year is tailored more towards our likes and loves.

Our garden this year includes:

Newly planted items in the new raised beds!

Newly planted items in the new raised beds!

  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Sweet Peppers
  • Onions
  • Green Onions
  • Yellow Squash
  • Scalloped Squash
  • Lettuce Blends
  • Parisian Carrots
  • Danver Carrots
  • Zucchini
  • and soon to be Potatoes

 

In one raised bed by the patio, I have two cherry tomatoes, two sweet peppers, one basil, two yellow squash, two scalloped squash, some bulb onion and some green onion. I used the square foot gardening technique to decide on spacing. In one of the raised beds in the old garden area, I have two zucchini, more bulb onions, parisian carrots and danver carrots. In the smallest of the raised beds, I have a lettuce blend and green onions.

Herbs include:

  • Basil
  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Dill
  • Cilantro

The picture above was taken roughly six days ago, but today I actually noticed a difference in the size of my plants and even saw some peeking from the soil!

Some of my squash seedlings are making their debut.

Some of my squash seedlings are making their debut.

Bulb onions are peeking from the soil as well!

Bulb onions are peaking from the soil as well!

Zucchini seedlings are making their presence known as well.

Zucchini seedlings are making their presence known.

And I can already tell that these have grown since the first picture I took (at the top of the page).

And I can already tell that these have grown since the first picture I took (at the top of the page).

Strawberry plants

Strawberry plants

Experiment this year:

Strawberries!

Ok, so I went to Sam’s Club the other day and they were selling little starter kits of strawberries, potatoes, garlic, flower bulbs, etc. I decided to try the strawberries. According to the label I was behind in time to plant them for my region, but I decided to try anyways. They were cheap and I’ve never grown any before. That’s why they call it an experiment! Anyways, when I opened the package, the seedlings were really dry. I assumed nothing would come of it. I tried to pull apart what I could, but it didn’t seem to work, so I planted it all in relatively the same spot. 🙂 I am fairly certain some people are probably cringing at this statement, but I had very little invested at this point… Surprise, surprise! Two plants decided to pop up. I did a double take, I promise! We will see how they do, so wish me luck.

I will also have potatoes this year. I have the tubers already, but I have to plant them in the boxes filled with soil. Pictures will come soon…

 

How is your Spring garden going? What is one thing you can’t live without growing each year? Let me know!

 

Get your Head in the Garden,

Sarah

This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Garden Update: 4/3/2015

  1. It’s been a bit cold lately and we’re on clay so we’re showing restraint with planting so far. Rhubarb is looking good. I like rhubarb. So does my wife. So I have rhubarb and a happy wife. What more does a man need?

    • Thanks for reading! I’m glad you have rhubarb as well. I can honestly say I have never had it before, but I need to try it. Good luck showing restraint, I know it can be hard sometimes come early spring.

Leave a Message

