Potato Project Update: 7-12-14, A Not so Grand Finale

The tops of my potato plants were finally gone. I decided to wait to harvest the potatoes from the laundry basket until my parents visited for the weekend. My mom and I were so excited to see what was inside of all that lovely soil. We just knew it was going to be a gold mine. She even got her phone out to record! So what did we find?

We found soil … and soil … and soil …a rotten root … and more soil… a MASSIVE POTATO?! …that is severely rotten… and one perfectly tiny potato.

My one perfectly tiny potato.

My one perfectly tiny potato.

I hope my writing expresses the amount of disappointment we had, so much so that my mom immediately deleted the video. I am not sure what happened and why they did not produce any more potatoes than they did. My only thought is that one shoot of a plant made its way out of the side of the container instead of being covered by soil as the rest grew to the top; which in turn caused the plant not to produce potatoes above this point. (I am reaching here, because I really have no idea… Any takers?)

But I will not give up!! I plan to try again and, of course, I will share.

Does anyone else have any disappointing gardening moments??

 

Get you Head in the Garden, and keep it up!

Sarah

This entry was posted in Potato Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potato Project Update: 7-12-14, A Not so Grand Finale

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your potatoes! I’m sure your next crop will turn out better.

Leave a Message

