Canning Season!

Canning season might have started for some people already or might be a year-round event even. For most though, including myself, it is during the summer months when fresh vegetables are plentiful.

I recently took a trip to Charlie’s U-PIK in Lucedale, MS to harvest some tomatoes and peppers to begin my canning season. My garden does not produce enough to can, therefore I have to find produce elsewhere. It was hot, but well worth it.

Some of my harvest from Charlie's U-PIK.

Some of my harvest from Charlie’s U-PIK.

I was able to harvest tomatoes, bell peppers, hot peppers and some peas. I also picked up some squash, zucchini, tomatillos and jalapeños. I started with trying a new canning recipe for lime enchilada sauce and I also canned some whole tomatoes that will be used in soups, spaghetti sauces and more throughout the year. A lot of the tomatoes still have to ripen some more, but I can’t wait. Salsa is up next!

Enchilada sauce and whole tomatoes.

Enchilada sauce and whole tomatoes.

Get your Head in the Garden,

Sarah

This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Message

