My Garden Update: 5-12-14

The weather has been fantastic lately with only a few days of heavy rain – just enough to give the garden a much-needed soak. The garden is growing and I am thrilled. I’ve had a few gardening hiccups, but nothing too drastic. Here are a few pictures of what everything looks like.

Green and red lettuce.

Green and red lettuce.

Just the other day I picked my first round of leaves off for salads. I store them in a bag in the fridge, waiting to wash them until I plan to eat them.

Pac Choi seedlings.

Pac Choi seedlings.

My pac choi seedlings were looking great until we had a day in the 80’s and they dried up quickly! I was so disappointed. Luckily, a few survived and a few are slowly but surely coming back. That’s one lesson learned!

Lemongrass is growing!

Lemongrass is growing!

My onions. Yum, yum, yum!

My onions. Yum, yum, yum!

The squashes are justa' growing.

The squashes are justa’ growing.

A view of everything most everything on the patio.

A view of most everything on the patio.

I slowly keep adding container after container that I will soon run out of room, but I am sure I will find somewhere to put more! Right now I have an orange tree, two blueberry bushes (they have the cages around them because my youngest dog likes to eat the branches…), a pineapple plant, my potatoes, rosemary, lemongrass, gladiolus-es, stevia, thyme, marigolds and a sweet potato vine. In the back of the picture you can see the in-ground garden. I just transplanted some regular and cherry tomatoes today. I can’t wait to have garden fresh tomatoes to eat!

 

Get your Head in the Garden,

Sarah

This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Garden Update: 5-12-14

  1. jayhawks2014 says:

    Sarah I just love how your garden is coming along. I’m in the upper Midwest and we’ve been getting lots of rain this past week but my two raised beds (16 potatoes, 4 tomatoes, 8 green peppers, 8 Anaheim peppers, 8 white radishes and 8 cilantro), my traditional garden has 3 sugar snap peas, 3 green beans, 3 cucumbers, 3 squash, celery, cabbage, pumpkin and sweet yellow onions. My containers on the deck have lettuces, more sweet yellow onions, green onions, red radishes, carrots, 2 kinds potatoes and my 2 blueberry plants (which are just now starting to develop their leaves and I’ve only had them for one week). I’m SO enjoying watching things grow now.

    • Thank you so much! It seems that you have your hands full. It sounds great though! That will be great to watch grow and enjoy. Have you had success with carrots in containers? I tried it last year and they didn’t do anything. I’m not sure what the problem was…

      • jayhawks2014 says:

        I’m going to be posting pictures of my raised beds here in a couple days to my blog but to answer your question, yes I’ve had success with carrots in my containers. I use the wicking containers that water the roots from the bottom (Home Depot City Pickers Containers). I was skeptical like most in using these containers but it was my little experiment a year ago and they truly do work. One can grow tomatoes, lettuce, radishes, carrots, green onions and all your culinary herbs. With having such a FRIGID cold winter that we this year everything is a month behind in growing and the ground soil was frozen two feet deep. Which is why I’ve added 3 raised beds this season. Happy Gardening to everyone!

      • I’ll be sure to take a look! And I might just have to try those containers, especially for the longer varieties of carrots. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Making The Cut | bunchofcilantro

Leave a Message

