My Garden Update: 3/31/14

The weather has been crazy here lately… Warm one day, cold the next, rain, storms, wind. I managed to get a few things done outside this past weekend even though we had torrential rain for two days straight before.

New seed tray planted using reused six packs and cut paper towel rolls.

New seed tray planted using reused six packs and cut paper towel rolls.

It is finally warm enough for me to leave my seedlings outside. I have been moving them in and out with the changing weather temps, but they should be okay as of now. I also started some more today. I should have started them earlier, but winter here has stayed a little longer than usual. In the past couple of weeks I have also added some tomato cages around my blueberry bushes because Wiley Bug (our puppy border collie mix) seems to love chewing on the branches. I thought I lost one, but it has come back as the weather has gotten warmer. I should have a few blueberries on the larger one though.

Blueberries caged to prevent the pups from chewing on them!

Blueberries caged to prevent the pups from chewing on them!

Blooms on the orange tree.

Blooms on the orange tree.

Flowers have begun to bloom on the orange tree. There are so many that I might have to pull some off to avoid breaking branches in the future, but I am going to wait for the moment. They smell so wonderful!

Potato buds planted as an experiment this year.

Potato buds planted as an experiment this year.

My new project to try this year is potatoes. I have seen online where people have grown them in cardboard boxes, laundry bins, trash cans, etc., so I am trying it. We will see, fingers crossed! I planted one inch portions of a potato bud with soil below and above. In theory, these should grow and once a stem length of around 18 inches is reached I will add more soil. As the plant continues to grow I continue to add soil until it is filled. The plant grows out and when it is harvest time, I should have pounds and pounds of potatoes inside the laundry basket. I will keep you updated. My mom is also trying this at her house in a cardboard box. Hopefully both of ours work because it would be great to save on buying potatoes at the store! There are so many ways to use them and even preserve them!

A few other new additions to the garden include some rosemary to replace the lemon tree that was killed over winter and some lemon grass (not pictured) to replace the lime tree that was also killed. It was just too cold this year for too long! I have also added a new compost bin to accompany my other one. I am excited about this because now I can save my kitchen and yard scraps all year round by rotating the bins I am using. I wasted so many scraps this winter by not having two.

Rosemary

Rosemary

A new compost bin

A new compost bin

The onions in the garden are looking great and have loved the cooler weather that we have had over the past week. Hopefully they will welcome this warmer weather as well because I just don’t know if I want it to be cool any longer! Once some of the water in the garden and yard drains from our torrential rains this past weekend, I plan to get back out in the yard, plant some more items and get things fixed up a bit.

With Spring arriving, get outside and get your Head in the Garden! What are you most excited about??

This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Garden Update: 3/31/14

  1. My potatoes are peeking through the ground.

  2. Pingback: Potato Project 4-4-14 | Head in the Garden

Leave a Message

