My Garden Update – Winter Weather

Over the Thanksgiving holiday we experienced our first freeze. The day before, as I was riding to and from my house, I noticed people covering their plants with all sorts of contraptions. Some had tarps, garbage bags and even blankets draped over their plants. Since I haven’t lived here through a winter, much less a freeze here, I figured I would follow suit. I picked up some visqueen at the hardware store in the hopes I could get it up in time for some heat to accumulate underneath before the cool of the night set it. (Note to self – don’t attempt this alone in windy weather… I was not a happy camper.) All I wanted to try to save were my tomatoes. I was still getting fruit off of them and figured if I could make it through the two cool days that I would be alright because it was supposed to warm up again after that. Well, it got cold. Really cold! (At least by my standards…) I woke up Thanksgiving day to find everything dead that wasn’t covered, except for my broccoli.

A pepper plant killed by a freeze.

A pepper plant killed by the freeze.

An eggplant killed by a freeze over Thanksgiving.

An eggplant killed by the freeze over Thanksgiving.

While it is separate plants, one was under cover and one was not during the freeze.

While it is separate plants, one was under cover and one was not during the freeze.

The broccoli survived!

The broccoli survived!

I know the broccoli would be alright and I hadn’t planned to keep the peppers any longer, so I was fine with that. As I pulled off the visqueen to check the tomatoes, I was disappointed. I do not believe they had a chance to accumulate enough heat. While there were still a few branches that looked ‘normal,’ most looked icky and had this odd coloring. I knew it was all an experiment planting this garden, especially so late in the year, but considering it was late November and I was harvesting cherry tomatoes and peppers, I think it went pretty well. I will know for next year!! Since most everything died, I cleaned up the garden, pulled up plants and covered the garden with the visqueen in hopes to kill some weeds before spring.

I left the carrots uncovered from the visqueen.

I left the carrots uncovered from the visqueen.

While I covered the rest of the garden with visqueen, I left the broccoli uncovered.

While I covered the rest of the garden with visqueen, I left the broccoli uncovered.

I placed a few plants in my mini greenhouse for safe keeping over winter.

I placed a few plants in my mini greenhouse for safe keeping over winter.

The pineapple takes up a lot of real-estate in the mini greenhouse!

The pineapple takes up a lot of real-estate in the mini greenhouse!

Of course, the weather now is warm and sunny. It was in the high 60’s today! Hopefully the weather will relax and decide on a temperature sometime soon…

What all did you do in your garden to prepare for the winter??

-Sarah

By the way, I have been looking at seed catalogs and I am getting very excited about next year!

 

This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Garden Update – Winter Weather

  1. Such a shame you lost your tomatoes, especially going to the effort of trying to get them through. That’s the way with experiments like that isn’t it.
    I’ve made a sort of makeshift poly tunnel for some plants which have a dubious hardiness rating – everything was going well until the gales yesterday – the poly tunnel is no more!!

Leave a Message

